ESPN – The umpires made an “error of judgement” in awarding six runs, instead of five, to England for the overthrow that hit Ben Stokes’ bat and ran to the boundary, says Simon Taufel, confirming the story that ESPNcricinfo broke right after the World Cup 2019 final. Currently part of the MCC’s laws sub-committee that makes the rules governing cricket, Taufel told foxsports.com.au that England should have been awarded five runs, not six.
“It’s a clear mistake.. it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel said. “They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six.”
Law 19.8, pertaining to “Overthrow or wilful act of fielder”, says: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”
A review of the footage of the incident – which took place off the fourth ball of the last over – shows clearly that, at the moment the ball was released by the New Zealand fielder, Martin Guptill, Stokes and his partner, Adil Rashid, had not yet crossed for their second run.